Autumn leaves

Well, South Australia has had some rain at last! It was so lovely to wake up to the sound and smell of the rain today and it made it feel like it was Autumn at last – well compared to our 15 day heatwave at the start of March!

As promised, here is my Autumn leaves card that I made for my swap. I love these Earth elements shades at the moment and have combined Pumpkin Pie, Really Rust and Old Olive ink with some Very Vanilla, Old Olive and Metallic Copper card-stock. I used the Petal Prints leaves stamp (fantastic for backgrounds!) to stamp the leaves and then, with a scalpel, have just cut around some of the leaves so that they lift up and give the card some extra dimension – kind of like leaves tumbling from a tree. The sentiment is from the retiring Stem Silhouettes stamp set.

Autumn Blessings card

A technique I have tried out in making this card is using my brayer to create the leaf background. Thanks to my wonderful upline (Hi Jayne!) I learned how to use my brayer to create a background. I inked up my stamp and rolled the brayer over it a couple of times, then rolled my brayer over a 12×12 piece of card-stock. By doing this several times in a couple of different colours I was able to create a lovely background page with varying depths of colour as the ink was applied. I will definitely be using this technique again – it would be fantastic for background pages in a scrapbook.

That’s all for now, hope you are having a nice day too – wherever you are reading this!

4 responses to “Autumn leaves

  1. Welcome to blog world Kari, it looks great and this card is so lovely.

  2. Love this card Kari.

    Will have to try this myself.

    Thanks for sharing. Your blog looks great too.

    Jo

  3. Kari
    what a great card…Love the colours and the way you have a leaf raised every so often…really beautiful.
    Jodi

  4. Kari,

    What a lovely card. I also like the colours you have used.

    K.

Leave a Reply

