Late night stamping!

Happy Weekend! I hope you are having a good one! Mine is going well and I have been able to get in some stamping so that is always a good sign – puts me in a good mood too! 🙂

I have a couple of cards to share with you tonight. They are for my class tomorrow (well actually today as it is now 4 minutes past midnight! oops!) and we are focussing on embossing. Now, unfortunately you can’t tell from just looking at these cards, but they feature the scratch’n’sniff technique. It is a very easy technique and just adds another dimension to your cards.

This card features stamps from the set ‘Like it a Latte’ and I have mixed instant coffee with clear embossing powder (EP) and embossed this over the cup image (I stamped the cup in versamark then Chocolate Chip). Apart from being able to ‘scratch’n’sniff’ the cup and get the lovely coffee aroma (you should have smelt it when I was using the heat tool on it! mmm!) the coffee powder also gives a bit of texture to the image which is nice. You could just stamp in Versamrk ink and then emboss that, however I found that the image didn’t appear as dark and was a little uneven in colour, depending on the coffee, so I preferred the image with the Chocolate chip behind the Coffee/EP blend.

This card is a little 3″ x 3″ one. This is a great size for a gift card or just for that little note you want to leave someone. The best thing about the one pictured here is that in real life, when you scratch the centre flower, it smells like raspberry! mmm! I’ve combine Pretty in Pink with the new Purely Pomegranate for the colours here and used stamps from the Petals and Paisley set and the Polka Dots and Petals sets. I’ve also used my punches to create the centre embellishment – they make it so easy to whip up a nice embellishment! I’ve used the new Scallop circle punch which I think I’ve used almost every day since my order arrived as well as some of my circle punches. Easy!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and thanks for visiting!

3 responses to “Late night stamping!

  1. Hi Kari

    You are right about so many new ideas to try, wow this one is something very different. It is incredible what you can do with SU! stuff. Thanks for showing us the cards you made for your class and I am glad your class and challenges for the year are going so well. Well Done! All while you are working full time now!

    Looking forward to the next exciting edition on your blog
    Alison

  2. Thanks for finding me, Kerri!

    I used a ratio of 1 tsp of coffee and 1 1/2 tsp clear EP and it worked best. A little bit of the coffee does come off as you scratch it, but it’s mainly the bigger granules that do that – and when I used equal amounts of coffee and EP more coffee came off!

    I used the same ratio for the jelly crystals (diet jelly though as the sugar will burn if you use normal jelly crystals) and that worked fine. I noticed that the jelly crystal images end up looking shinier than the coffee ones, I think it’s because the jelly crystals are finer and therefore more of the EP stuck too.

    You can just use the Versamark ink to stamp with and emboss – for the coffee I got a patchy light brown, for the jelly crystals it was a all over light pinky-purple – which was okay, but I wanted to have a nice bright colour, so I found it best to press the stamp in the versamark then onto my coloured inkpad and then stamp it.

    Hope this helps!

  3. totally cool I am so glad that I have a google alert and found you. Could you tell me how you did the scratch and sniff and the measurements of the embossing and coffee please please please

    Love your card

Leave a Reply

