Nanna’s Birthday

Hi! Just popped on while both my boys are having a morning nap and wanted to share this card we’ll be giving to my mum a bit later today. It was her birthday yesterday and this year I thought I would make her cards – one from Aidan and one from hubby and me. I decided to make a little picture for Aidan’s card using the ‘All in the Family’ set. It is so cute and when my Stamp-a-ma-jig (SAMJ) arrives I know I will use this set a lot more as it will be easier to line up all the little heads and bodies! I have stamped in Stazon on Whisper White, then used my watercolour crayons and Aqua-painter to colour in the images.

It’s funny but I hadn’t realised how many cards I had still been buying over the past few years, depite me having all this papercarft stuff here! I was making lots at Christmas and then occasional cards throughout the year, but the last 12 months I have been actvely trying to make more of them – and trying to do it earlier than on the day I need them!!! I guess the one thing with making your own cards is finding something nice to write in them – eg a ‘Hallmark’ sentiment – but I have been spending a bit of time on the web (Surprising I know!!) and have come across nice poems/verses there, as well as in a few books I’ve seen. I even got a fantastic response to the card I made for my hubby on Valentines Day! He was so thrilled that I had ‘finally’ made him a card! I never would have thought he’d really want a handmade one, but he was thrilled, so that spurred me on to resist buying any this year.

That’s all for now! Enjoy the long weekend and spending time with your families – a day for honoring and rememberance is what this day is all about. K 🙂

3 responses to “Nanna’s Birthday

  1. Hi Kari

    I know what you mean about making all your cards yourself. I have the stuff and the ability to make mine too but the time is not always there is it. I hope to spend a day like you do making my own Christmas cards really soon, just so it is done. I like your card for your Mum and I am glad your husband liked the card you made him too. I too have one hidden away for my husband that I made a few weeks ago at a craft session I went to, hopefully he likes it too.

    Alison

  2. Thanks Kylie! Nanna did love it!

    Aidan also loved Nanna’s cake – with his hand!!! We had cream splattered across the table instead of candles being blown out!!!

    Kids! Gotta love ’em!

  3. How cute! Nanna will love it!

    K-xxx

Leave a Reply

