Colour of the Month: Blue Bayou

Okay, so who of you out there know the song ‘Blue Bayou’? If you do then you’ll know what’s been going through my head ever since reading the name of this beautiful new Blue In Color from SU! If you don’t then click on the song name and it will take you to the link and I’m sure you’ll recognise it when you hear it1 I think my first memory of this song was hearing it on Young Talent Time! Sad, but very Australian!

On to the actual reason for this post now! I have decided to choose a colour per month to focus on. Of course I will still be using other colours, but I just thought it would give me a little challenge and make me use colours I may otherwise keep for accents only! So this month I chose Blue Bayou. It is a lovely barker blue, and while dark blues tend to be thought of as masculine colours, I hope to show you ways to use it in all sorts of cards. In the Blue Bayou colour SU! has available: card stock (regular and textured), inkpads, ink refills and double stitched ribbon. There is also the Spring Break pack of DSP that includes Blue Bayou in it’s colour scheme.

Now the bonus that you get from me having a Colour of the Month Special! Anyone who purchases 2 or more products from that colour range (including coordinating DSP packs) will receive 5% off the RRP of those products in your order! Fantastic value! Just think,  in 12 months time you could build you collection up of fantastic colours, plus have ideas from each month to help you use the products!!

So here’s my first card for the month:

This card uses Blue Bayou and Whisper White card stock, Blue Bayou ink, Spring Break DSP and the stamp set is ‘Cheery Chat’. I have also used my 1 1/4″ circle punch to punch out circles in Blue Bayou and mounted them along the bottom straight onto the card front. Although doing this  doesn’t add as much dimension as mounting them with the double sided foam tape, but it adds interest to an otherwise plain part of the card.

‘Well I’ll never be blue
My dreams come true
On Blue Bayou’

One response to “Colour of the Month: Blue Bayou

  1. Kari, that is a brilliant idea! It is always good to challenge yourself.
    K-xxx

Leave a Reply

