More punching!

In my last order I purchased the large oval punch. I wanted something for adding greeting type embellishments to the front of my cards and I’d seen it used well for this. However, I also saw another cute way to use it – to make a tulip!!

This Blue Bayou card features 3 ovals punched from Rose Red DSP – Palette’O’Prints Promotion – plus one oval in Certainly Celery and I used my square punch to remove the middle section from this oval to form ‘leaves’ (you can just trim it with scissors) and a strip of Certainly Celery forms the stem. I was reminded of naive applique when I put it together so I added the linen thread rather than the ribbon I had picked out as I thought that suited the more rustic nature of the card. Finally, I added the ‘happy’ sentiment from the ‘Petals and Paisley’ set in Blue Bayou ink. The flower is actually mounted on the back of the card as I cut and scored the card so that it only overlaps on the left hand half of the back piece – just a little different to a ‘normal’ card.

Hope you like it! Thanks for visiting! Kari 🙂

One response to “More punching!

  1. Hi Kari

    Nice card, I like the tulip and again the rose and blue colours go so well together.

Leave a Reply

