Plummy Projects

Tonight I’ve got for you the last of the the three (well it was actually Challenge 1 on the night , but I worked backwards!! typical!) challenges from Tuesday night. This was a colour challenge inspired by a range of linen, hmmm, how hard could that be, you ask? Well, the colours given were Basic Black, Brocade Blue, Perfect Plum, Very Vanilla and Tempting turquoise. Now if you know your SU! colours, that selection isn’t too bad – except for the Tempting Turquoise!!! Here is the inspiration photo of the Hepburn Range from Linen House to give you an idea of the colours – and here is my finished card….

The card base is Tempting Turquoise and I matted the Watercolour paper (very close to veyr vanilla!) onto basic black. I used the technique ‘Brushless Watercolouring’ where you spritz your paper or inked up stamp with water so that the inks spreads a little when it is stamped on the paper and so it kind of softens the colour a bit. The inks I used were Perfect Plum and Brocade Blue and there’s just a bit of Very Vanilla Taffeta ribbon there too. I was reasonably happy with how the colours came together in the end and it was definitely a fun night!

The second card I have for you tonight is inspired by another sketch. I have used my Colour of the Month again, Regal Rose, in combination with Perfect Plum and Whisper White. I used the Simply Said stamp set and Black Stazon for the main stamping but also stamped the little flower in Versamark on the Regal Rose card to create a bit of a pattern. My oval punch came out again and I’ve used the Perfect Plum Elegant Eggplant (oops! Sorry, getting my fruit and veg colours mixed up here!! Thankyou to the Queen of Purple for helping me out!!;) ) ribbon too – so nice having ribbon that matches your ink, that matches your cardstock…..! I used my markers to colour in the little flowers on the white card and I also used my matpack to add some piercing in the top corners and across the bottom. In hindsight I should have made the card shorter, but I didn’t want to try and pull the pieces apart after I realised this, so it’s staying as it is for now!

Have a great weekend! K 🙂

One response to “Plummy Projects

  1. Oi! There’s nothing wrong with Tempting Turquoise! It was just tricky in this combination 😉 I can see what you mean about the last card, but you have off-set it ok with the piercing . I like how your colour of the month was Regal Rose and this post is very plummy, LOL (the ribbon is Elegant Eggplant but still a good match for Perfect Plum)

Leave a Reply

