Circles, stripes and a box

Today I happened to go to  a scrapbooking store named Camelot. Now for the non-Adelaideans that means nothing, but for those of you in Adelaide – WOW! Have you been! So much stuff crammed into those rooms! Lots of embellishments and some gorgeous tins and chipboard just screaming out to be altered!! I was restrained (don’t know by whose standards!!!LOL!) But now I do know what everyone is talking about!

While I was there I saw a little chipboard box and thought how easy it would be to make my own – just a base of scored and trimmed squares and then a few holes in the corners and some ribbons to hold it together! Here is my version – I think it’s a bit bigger than the one I saw and I will embellish it this week – think I’ll pop a few photos in it and a couple of quotes – kind of like a ‘memory cube’. Handy though as it only takes one piece of A4 card and then you have some spare squares from where you trim it to size that you can use to embellish it with.

I also promised a photo of one of my May swap cards. This is such a simple card but I really like it. I have used the Pallette’o’Prints DSP in strips behind the stamped and coloured sentiment. The colours used are Rose Red, Certainly Celery and So Saffron and the stamp is from the Time Well Spent Hostess Set. Thankyou to Rebecca for the inspiration of using the DSP strips like this!

Last but not least for tonight is a card using the Love Notes and Circle of Friendship Set that are in the eScape Bundle. I have added some Petals and Paisley DSP and used the background stamp in Regal Rose formt he Polka Dots and Paisley Stamp set for the spots on the right hand side. After covering the front of the card in the DSP I then trimmed an inch off the right hand side and punched a semi-circle along this edge using my 1-1/4″ punch (also in the bundle) this then allowed me to mount the stamped cicle (punched with the 1″ circle punch) using dimnsionals on the back piece of the card, but have it ‘pop’ through the front piece.

Hope you are having a good weekend!! Thanks for visiting! More soon! 🙂 K

3 responses to “Circles, stripes and a box

  1. Camelot is worth the trip!!!!! Love what you made to.

  2. Great use of the DSPs Kari! Also, looking forward to your completed memory cube. After all your lovely creations using them, I really have to get some Petals and Paisley DSP soon.

  3. Glad to hear you enjoyed Camelot. Do you know they have their own website and mailing list? Good to see you found some new ideas. (Not hard in Camelot. LOL!!!)

Leave a Reply

