More watercolouring

I know, I know, will I ever get bored of this?! If you had asked me 12 months ago there is no way I would have ever thought I’d be colouring in stamped images, let alone watercolouring them! I won’t claim to be the greatest at this technique or at the many various ways to watercolour, but it is such a fun way to add colour to images and to combine colours too. It is now somehting I will do quite often, even if it’s only to add a little extra colour!

Speaking of combining colours….. my colour challenge from Saturday night! These are SU! colours: Ballet Blue, Soft Sky, Not Quite Navy, Pink Passion and Really Rust and you can check a sample of the colours out here.

And here is my effort….

watercolouring, petal prints

watercolouring, petal prints

The base card is Soft Sky and I stamped the Petal Prints leaves on it using Ballet Blue – this created a darker blue than I expected, but it looked better than I thought it could! I have used the Petal Prints solid daisy and coloured on the rubber with the watercolour wonder crayons in Pink Passion and Really rust, then spritzed the stamp with water before stamping it on the watercolour paper. I stamped it a couple of times before re-colouring to get variations in the depth of colour. Once I was done stamping the flowers on, I let the paper dry before carefully watercolouring with dilute Soft Sky ink in between the flowers (I should have taken a picture at this stage but I didnt’ think of it!) After the paper dried again, I inked up the outine stamp with Not Quite Navy and stamped the outline all over the piece – reinking after every couple of impressions. I then trimmed and punched the corners and mounted this onto some Not Quite Navy cardstock before tying a piece of Soft Sky double stitched ribbon on and mounting it onto the base card using stampin’ dimensionals.

Thanks for visiting! K 🙂

One response to “More watercolouring

  1. Pingback: More thankyous! « Kari Hughes . . . . . . . . . . . . . Independent Stampin’ Up!® Demonstrator

Leave a Reply

