Happy Birthday to my big boy!

Hard to believe 3 years ago we were holding him in our arms for the first time…. still makes me well up! I’m a bit of a softie really!!! He is such a mischievous delight in our lives that the last 3 years have certainly not been boring!!! Here is his first birthday card made by me….

aidans-birthday-card

I just love these new In Colors (almost as much as I love my boy 😉 LOL!) and I was down at Alicia’s last week and she had her Cricut out….. flicking through the booklet……ooooh, I like that car!! So with the scraps I had on hand, Alicia and Paula cut me out 1 car in Chocolate Chip and 2 cars in Baja Breeze and I sat there and trimmed them and layered them with Dimensionals. Voila – a cute car, but what to use it on?

layers-of-card

Well, thankyou Kristina Werner because what should appear in my inbox the next day, but a colour challenge?! Baja Breeze, Kiwi Kiss, Chocolate Chip and Whisper White! And in my mind I could see this card falling into place! Unfortunately I didn’t get it finished in time to enter it this week, but I still got it done! Yay! I did have to use my Bashful Blue marker to add a little extra colour for depth at the ‘highlight’ marks on the car – need to make me a Baja Breeze marker! I also added some Styled Silver hodge podge – gotta have some shiny wheels!!!

Anyway, hope you like it! I’ll be back later this weekend with photos of cakes too – promise!! LOL! 🙂 K

3 responses to “Happy Birthday to my big boy!

  1. Love the card Kari. My little girl turned 3 in February. Where does the time go? I hope your boy liked his card.

  2. I just love the card you made for Aidan! Great idea and the colours are perfect too!!!
    K-xxx

  3. What a lovely card Kari! I like the use of the colours and it looks so simple but really cool. Did Aidan like it?

Leave a Reply

