Daily Archives: May 1, 2010

Patches and scraps

Well, not only have I been stamping and baking lately, but I have been doing some patchwork too! My mum turned 60 last weekend and I wanted to make her something special, so I made her a quilt! Nothing too fancy, just some pretty fabrics and a simple design, but handmade by me so my mum knows that every stitch was just for her.

I wanted a pretty floral card to go with the floral fabrics of the quilt so I used Confetti White card as the background then randomly stamped the two flowers from Vintage Vogue over the card front (1st, 2nd and 3rd impression) as well as the ‘floral vine’ type stamp in the same set. For these I used Pale Plum, Perfect Plum and Sahara Sand. To provide a mat for the numbers (Unfortunately non-SU! chipboard because I didn’t have a matching ‘6 and ‘0’ but I inked these ones with Pale Plum) I used my Top-Note Die to cut out the shape from Vellum Cardstock. I adhered the numbers to the vellum with sticky strip and then positioned Stampin’ Dimensionals behind the numbers to adhere the vellum to the card front. This ‘lifted’ it off the card to make it stand out a little more. A few half pearls from the Pretties Kit and that’s it! What do you think?

I also made a ‘nanna’ cards for the kids to give her. I’d found this scrap of (retired) Almost Amethyst DSP the other week and was wanting to use it so it was perfect or the cardfront and the letters (The Jumbo Alpha again!) and the butterfly was from the retired ‘Great Friend’ stamp set, just stamped, cut out and ‘blinged’ before adhering with a mini glue dot. The ruffled ribbon is so easy – just adhere sticky strip to the card front where you want the ribbon to be and then pleat the ribbon with you fingers as you stick it along the sticky strip and make sure your ends are tucked under. A nice change from flat ribbon with a knot or bow.

Lastly, I made a gift for my lovely friend Kylie who had a birthday last week too. I had bought this 3D white frame and was debating on whether on not to create something for Kylie with it or not, because I would have to post her present and I didn’t know if it would survive the trip…. well, I decided to brave it!

Because y brain was in my patchwork, geometric pattern mode I remembered seeing some of these kinds of projects around the blogs and thought I’d give it a go! I used punched squares of any DSP that used Pink Pirouette and Whisper White (Kylie is a ‘pink’ girl! LOL!) then sponged the edges with Pink Pirouette before adhering them to a Whisper White background. I then used the 2-way glue pen to add some bling by the way of Dazzling Diamonds. Lastly I stamped some butterflies from the retired Spring Mini set ‘Great Friend’, cut them out, blinged them too and adhered them to the background with Mini Glue dots. 

Oh and just so you know… it made it to her safely through the post! I have a couple more frames here to make one each for the kids – what a perfect way to use up some scraps of DSP!

Have a great day! K 🙂