Daily Archives: May 29, 2010

Secret Sister

I’d heard about ‘Secret Sisters’ before but I’d never joined in with one until ‘UnConvention’ on the ESAD group! For those of us that couldn’t attend the Stampin’ Up! convention (sob, sob!) in Sydney last weekend, some of the girls on the ESAD group organised a fabulous weekend of challenges and activities for us to keep our minds off of the fun stuff the other were doing.

I didn’t get any of the challenges done on time but I have started a couple and have been very inspired – and challenged! – by them, so they will get me creative in the coming weeks. However, I did get to join in with a Card Swap (I’ll show pics of that later) and a Secret Sister swap. With the Secret Sister, it’s kind of like Secret Santa, you sign up for it then get given a name and send a card/gift to that person. The rules for this one were that it had to be a handmade gift and worth $10. Here is what I made for my Secret Sister ……

Can you see I liked the Very Vanilla/Rich Razzleberry combo? With the Friendly words Jumbo Wheel? And the Vintage Vogue flower with a half pearl? LOL! I had the colours in front of me and I just wanted to make it all match! I’ll describe what I’ve made just incase you can’t tell properly in the picture….

top left: I covered a little spiral bound notebook with Rich Razzleberry and stamped the cover with the Friendly Words Wheel before adding the cutout flower and half pearl.

top right: I folded a piece of card lengthways before cutting it with the top Note die to form a pocket. I stamped the front with the wheel and tucked in some of those Jarrah Latte Sachets before tying with some wide Very Vanilla ribbon and adding the flower and half pearl

bottom right: I scored a Top Note diecut shape 1/2″ either side of the centre mark to form the case of the box. I then cut a strip and scored it so that it formed the sides of the box (it also had tabs to stick to the base inside). Before sticking it together I stamped it with the wheel of course! 😉 Inside the box are some Felt Flowers in Rose Red, Pumpkin Pie and Old Olive and then I tied it and embellished it with the small flower this time 😉

bottom left: I used a scored Top Note Die to top a small cello bag containing some Werthers butterscotch lollies and of course the Top Note die was stamped and embellished like the other projects.

Lastly, I also made a little mini pizzabox to put a tealight candle in

And here was the card I made to go with it …. I kept the colour theme except I added a little Kraft and Chocolate 😉

Hope my Secret Sister liked it all!  Happy Unconvention!! Cheers, K 🙂