The INKlings Christmas in July Blog Hop!

Welcome to The INKlings’ Team’s Christmas in July Blog Hop. You may have arrived here from the very Krafty Miss Kylie’s blog or have just come to check out my blog today (thankyou, by the way!), whichever way you’ve come though. once you’ve checked out my creations you can continue the hop through the link at the end of this post to the next team member.

How quick is this year going?! Have you started to think about your Christmas cards and projects yet? Some of the INKlings team have started our Christmas Classes already so we thought that this month was the perfect time to host a Christmas in July blog hop.   You’ll find lots of great ideas provided by 17 team members’ fantastic blogs.

Want to win some Blog Candy? Simply leave a comment on each and every blog and then email Christie Wallace and let her know you’ve done so and you’ll be in the running for a fantastic prize of 17 handmade cards plus other goodies. What a fabulous start to your Christmas Cards for this year! Sorry Blog Candy prize not available to SU! Demonstrators but you’re more than welcome to leave us a comment!

This year I was determined to make my Christmas cards ‘easier’ for myself! Partly after last year with Audrey arriving the week before Christmas and I know I got behind because …. well, basically … I was huge and tired and it was too hot to stamp even for me! LOL! But this year we will be celebrating Audrey’s 1st Birthday just before Christmas, so any early start I can get is a welcome one!

So, how to make Christmas cards easy?! …. Use a Simply Scrappin’ Kit! It comes with 8 12”x12” (2 each of 4 colours) textured pieces of cardstock plus 6 12×12” pieces of DSP (3 each of 2 designs) AND the big bonus is you get 6 sheets of diecuts! They are 6”x12” and there a 3 different sheets (you get 2 of each sheet) …. So the easiest thing to do is: cut your cardstock, trim some paper and adhere it to the cardfront, maybe add a little ribbon and then add a diecut or two! It’s so easy! Your colour choices are already made, so no deciding do I go for this red or this red! LOL! Here’s some of my cards using the ‘I Wish’ Simply Scrappin’ Kit!

The diecuts are actually self-adhesive, but sometimes it’s nice to have them sitting up on dimensionals so that your card isn’t so ‘flat’ …. The solution? Turn your diecut over and then gently pat your embossing buddy over the adhesive side! The powder sticks to the adhesive, making it a ‘non-adhesive’ diecut!

 

The other thing I’ve been having fun with is my Movers and Shapers die and the Holiday Windows dies with my Big Shot. Because I’m planning for Christmas I’ve been using the Ornament window for the boxes I’ll show you in a minute, but first I just want to show you how I got that lovely white layer under the Chocolate Chip diecut in the red/stripy card up the top. I cut a piece of Whisper White and laid it over the curly/scallop square die from the Holiday Windows Die set while the die was still positioned in the Movers and Shapers card die and rolled it through the Big Shot. Easy! (in the 3rd picture I took the diecut to use before I took the picture …. but you get the idea!) Carol has also shared another trick with me to cut windows, but I’ll share that in another post 😉

  

You’ll notice in the pictures above that I have a piece of grid paper in the base of the Movers and Shapers card area – this was a great tip I have seen on several blogs as it really helps you get your window die centred and nice and straight.

And here are my boxes using the Ornament die to cut windows. You’ll notice that I have continued using the I Wish Simply Scrappin’ Kit to create and decorate these – perfect for anyone that wants to stick to one theme for all their Christmas cards and gifts!

The one above is adapted from a box by Jackie Topa. She adapted the little pizza box measurements to create her box and I did a little fiddling to create this one – so cute filled with those Dove Promise chocolate squares, YUM! – and you could even add a piece of a window sheet/acetate behind the window to ensure none fall out (I didn’t because of taking photos of them, really! not just because I want to steal them through the window!! LOL!). I then adapted the box a little more in my next version to fit a Whittakers Almond slab inside!

I saw these little boxes on another youtube video by Dawn Olefschke and couldn’t resist having a go! To fit the gingerbread man in I had to add a gusset between the front and back because the Gingerbread Man wouldn’t quite fit in my original box that I made according to instructions. If I had made my own Gingerbread men they would have fit in there as my cookie cutter isn’t quite and wide. How cute would these be for little Christmas gifts for the kids to give their friends?! Or even for party favors?!

 

And just so you don’t think I am totally obsessed with packaging food in my creations….. here is my ‘original’ box! When I found that the gingerbread man wouldn’t fit, I was looking around for what would fit in there, for some reason I had made it thinner than I was supposed to so I was struggling, and then I saw these little Spirax notepads on my desk! I covered one with some of the DSP from the kit, added some ribbon and a diecut, then popped some matching DSP in the tube of the pen to match … voila! A great little gift for someone to keep all their Christmas notes and lists in!

 

Well that’s all from me.  Next stop on the INKlings’ Team Blog Hop is the spectacular Dani Fender! Have fun and don’t forget to leave a comment on each blog to win some great Blog Candy. Happy Christmas in July!  K 🙂

 Just in case you get lost on your way, here’s a list of everyone on the Hop!

Christie       http://www.christiescreativecorner.blogspot.com

Dani H       http://daniholland.wordpress.com/

Carol          http://inkantations-and-inkarnations.blogspot.com/

Michelle D http://www.stampinkpaper.blogspot.com

Jayne          http://www.jaynemercer.com/blogs

Kylie          http://kraftykylie.typepad.com/blossom_designs/

Kari           http:// www.karigail.wordpress.com

Dani F –     http://danifender.blogspot.com

Beth –         http://www.elisabethstewart.com/bethinking/

Nicky A     http://www.nickyadamson.blogspot.com

Clare          http://www.crafty-cow.com

Amy           http://amyandersonsblog.blogspot.com

Fiona B.     http://www.fionajanestamping.blogspot.com

Michelle Frost-Stevenson http://www.stampinground.wordpress.com

Fiona P      http://fionapoirier.blogspot.com/

Divya         http://www.creadivya.blogspot.com/

Rachel J     http://havefunstamping.blogspot.com/

20 responses to “The INKlings Christmas in July Blog Hop!

  1. These look GREAT!!! i wish I could design things like this – lol

  2. All great Christmas ideas Kari!

  3. Diana Farthing

    I’m loving the I Wish Scrappin Kit more and more. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Alison Steele

    Love all your ideas

  5. fantastic ideas- especially love the card , Simple but effective

  6. Love all of this, Wish I could come this week but work gets in the way 😦

  7. Fabulous Christmas ideas! Thanks for the tip with the adhesive die cuts!

  8. I agree with Michelle, I want chocolate now!!! Great tip for non adhesive diecuts, never knew that! Great projects all round Kari

  9. LOL, your post has made me hungry Kari! Very clever ideas, especially the grid paper in the bottom of the Mover and Shaper!

  10. Lovely cards!

  11. I love the colours of the cards – so rich and christmasy!

  12. Love the notebook idea! Well done.

  13. That box is so cute. Beautiful work.
    Rach:)

  14. rofl at all the food packaging kari-is winter making you hungry lol! i love the gingerbread man with the packaging for a party favour.

  15. yummy!!.. awesome packaging! 🙂

  16. love the movers and shapers ideas, think i now need it!

  17. Love your Christmas cards Kari.
    Half way through the year already, hence Christmas in July.
    Jean

  18. Great ideas for Christmas Gifts. May just have to put the movers and shakers die on my wish list !

  19. I think the Dove choccie ornament box is my favourite – such a cute idea!

  20. Great projects Kari. Makes me want to start making more christmas stuff now.

Leave a Reply

