The INKlings Autumn Winter Mini Catalogue Blog Hop

Welcome! You may have arrived here from the lovely Dani Holland’s blog or just be visiting my blog (thank you!), but whichever way you came here, once you’ve checked out my creations you can continue the hop through the link at the end of this post to the next team member.

With a new Mini Catalogue out today we thought it would be a great time to showcase the gorgeous new products to all our blog readers.

You can check out the new mini catalogue online here or if you’d like your own copy contact me today and I’ll pop one in the mail to you.

Want to win some Blog Candy? Simply leave a comment on each blog before midnight AEST on 3rd April and then email me at karigail@internode.on.net and let me know you’ve done so and you’ll be in the running for some fantastic handmade cards plus other goodies.

Sorry Blog Candy prize is only available to Australian residents and not to SU! demonstrators, but you’re more than welcome to leave us a comment!

So,  when I got my preview copy of the catalogue last month, there was a lot that I liked in there! You’ll get to see a few more of my purchases over the next few days and weeks, however, I quite liked the Clearly For You set on page 16. I wasn’t sure if it was really my style, but in an effort to challenge myself, I decided to purchase it and make sure I used it!

First up, I decided to create a gift card set in a mini Magazine holder box (the box and a different card set was the project for my Hostess Club ladies this month). Here you go ….

As you can see I used Old Olive for the card base and then added a little Blushing Bride, So Saffron, Early Espresso and More Mustard. Where did I get the inspiration for this colour scheme? On page 17 of the mini catalogue! I liked the colours in the thankyou card shown there, so I checked the Supply List and decided to use those colours. Now, the little background stamp is not large enough to cover the entire lower part of the card (folded card measures 2 7/8″ x 4 1/4″) so I got my stamp-a-ma-jig out and used that to stamp the image twice.

The strip of paper I used to decorate the box was cut from a piece of Botanical Gazette DSP which is on page 15 of the mini catalogue, I figured the theme and colours worked well with the cards.

Okay, now I did say that I promised myself that I would get a reasonable amount of use out of the stamp set so here’s card #2 ….

This one I used the Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder on the card front. The stamped image was done with a background of the filigree stamp that I stamped in 2nd impression So Saffron ink onto the Very Vanilla cardstock first, and then I inked up the floral stamp with my markers to stamp it over the top.

Card #3 uses some of the Newsprint DSP with the ladybird stamped in second impression Riding Hood Red ink. I also stamped one of the ladybird images on a Very Vanilla Neutral brad using Stazon, there is a 3/4″ circle of Riding Hood Red cardstock mounted under the brad to make it stand out a bit more.

Lastly, card #4, I really loved the Love Note card sample in the catalogue so I used the colours and adapted it to fit my card size. That’s the beauty of the catalogues, that not only do they contain gorgeous products, but hundreds of ideas too!

Well that’s all from me. Next stop on the INKlings’ Team Blog Hop is the talented Fiona Brown’s blog. Have fun and don’t forget to leave a comment on each blog to win some great Blog Candy.

Cheers, Kari 🙂

PS Just in case you get lost on the hop, here is a list of the blogs participating …

 

16 responses to “The INKlings Autumn Winter Mini Catalogue Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Inklings BlogHop – you’ll think all your birthdays have come at once! « Inky Fingers

  2. Fantastic cards. Very well presented. I especially liked the ladybug on the brad…quite clever. Your cards are simple enough for beginners, yet striking because of what you have used on them. Well done.

  3. Especially love your card using the vintage wallpaper embossing folder!
    Well done!

  4. Especially love the card using the vintage wallpaper embossing folder.
    Anything using the newsprint dsp also hits the right note for me!

  5. Kari what a fabulous selection of cards. I specially love the ladybird card and the stamped brad. J xx

  6. Dani, love all your ideas. The mini Magazine holder is my favourite.

  7. Debbie Wibberley

    Love the cards Kari, especially the three little birds.

  8. What lovely cards Kari! I especially like the combination of no. 2, very elegant.

  9. Gorgeous Kari, your cards are stunning. I will have to get the instructions from you for the magazine holder!
    Definately going to be a busy girl in the coming CASEing all these beautiful cards!!!!

  10. Great set of cards Kari, don’t you just love those 3 little birds

  11. What a beautiful collection Kari! I love the Clearly for You set – might have to be my next purchase……and what a clever idea for the jumbo brad – that ladybird is so cute! I’m having such a fun time doing the Blog Hop!

  12. Great cards Kari – I love the way you have used the background stamp 🙂

  13. I love the second card with the filigree stamp in So Saffron. I often like the 2nd impression best but rarely use it for anything except envelopes.

  14. You are so very talented! I like the mini magazine holder! A great idea!

  15. Lovely cards Kari. Especially like the birds on a wire, very cute.

  16. Oooh, so hard to pick a favourite – they’re all gorgeous! I think it’s the ladybird one – had never thought of using a jumbo brad like that – it’s very cute! Thanks for sharing your ideas Kari!

    Cheers,
    Dani

Leave a comment