Banners!

Banners seem to be the trendy thing this past year, dont’ you think? I haven’t given in and bought myself the Pennant Die for the Big Shot yet (although I must admit I have been close to putting in on an order some days 😉 ) but seeing so many around I kept wanting to make a card with one on it and I finally gave it a go with some gorgeous new products from the new mini catalogue.

As soon as I saw the Sweet Stitches DSP I thought the colours would be perfect for a banner and of course then my colour scheme fell into place as I picked the colours from the DSP. I’ve used the Create a Cupcake Stampset along with the Build a Cupcake Punch too – they are fabulous products and I have seen so many ways to use them!

I cut the pennants for my banner by cutting a strip of DSP 1 1/4″ wide and then marking along one side at 7/8″ intervals. I then found marked along the other side of the strip at 7/8″ intervals, but started marking 7/16″ from the end of the strip. I was then able to quickly chop the pennants in my trimmer by lining up the diagonal marks. Once I stuck the pennants in place I then added a length of Daffodil Delight 1/8″ Taffeta ribbon to create the banner and, as you can see, I curled the ends of the pennants up so I could pretend they were flapping in the breeze 🙂

Enjoy your day! Kari

Leave a comment