Mother’s Day ESAD Blog Hop!

Did you have fun participating in the last ESAD Blog Hop? I had fun checking out everyone’s projects and visiting some new blogs! Soooo many new ideas!!!! Todays Blog Hop is focussing on projects/cards you can make with your Big shot for Mother’s Day! And of course, if you are a mum you could definitely make some of these projects as a treat for yourself!! LOL!

If you are already on the Hop then you would have come to me from Nicky Adamson’s blog, isn’t she talented? Nicky is also a fellow INKling and I got to meet her at the Stampin’ Up! Convention last year in Canberra – hi Nicky!

With my projects, I thought that I would focus on the Scallop Envelope Die and a couple of different ways to use it other than just for envelopes!

First up – a card…. this card uses just the scalloped flap from the envelope shape to embellish this little Mother’s Day card. To get this portion you can either cut out a whole envelope and just cut off the flap to use or (if you have scraps laying around and don’t want to waste more cardstock!) you can just position a smaller piece of cardstock over the flap portion of the die before rolling it through the Big Shot and get your flap that way!

I adhered this scalloped piece along the edge of the card front – I thought it just added something different to the ‘usual’ scalloped strip that we get with the punch because it is slightly curved and also has the cut detail on the scallops too.

Next up, a little bag for mini gift cards. To make this bag, I folded a piece of DSP in half and positioned it on the scallop envelope die so that the folded edge of the DSP only extended into the large flap by approx 1/4″ as you can see in the photo when compared to the ‘normal’ envelope cut shape. I then folded along all the score lines and adhered the side flaps together (the bottom forms an inverted ‘v’ which gives it sightly more stability than a flat bottom).

I secured each scalloped flap to the side of the bag with a Stampin’ Dimensional before adding a half-pearl with a mini glue dot to the outside of the flap. A piece of ribbon then forms the handle and you are done! The cards to fit into this bag are 3″ x 2″ when folded – quite small but very cute and perfect for gift tags!

Lastly, I wanted to try out some different material in my Big Shot and I thought I’d give some felt a go! This cute little purse is made by cutting the felt with the Scallop Envelope Die. You can see the unmade up envelope shape in the photo too…..

I used the Tombow adhesive to glue the flaps together – if you wanted, you could even use some contrasting thread to stitch the flaps. I also used the Tombow Glue to add the Felt Flower and Crystal Brad embellishment to the front. To close the purse you could cut a button hole and use one of our designer buttons, but I decided to go with a Hat Pin and some Crystal beads from the Pretties Kit. So there you go, a cute little purse that would be perfect to package up some lovely earrings or a necklace for your Mum this Mother’s Day!  

Now if you are wondering, what is this ‘ESAD’ that I’m talking about then here are the answers for you! ESAD stands for Extra Special Australian (and New Zealand) Demonstrators and it is an online group just for Australian and New Zealand demonstrators for Stampin’ Up!

We so love what we do and not only do we love to share it with our customers, friends and wonderful blog visitors but we share our love for what we do with each other as Demonstrators. We run swaps, challenges, tutorials, product know how and cyberstamps and we are always there to help and support each other when its needed. So if you are a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator located in Australia or New Zealand then please feel free to click here to join our wonderful group.

Now before you run along to Vicki’s blog, don’t forget to leave me a comment! There is blog candy available to one lucky Australian and one lucky New Zealander (non-demonstrator) if they comment on every blog in today’s hop and then email their details to Sharlene . You have one week from today to post your comments and email Sharlene and then the winners names will be drawn from a hat – and you never know, you could win, my customers were very lucky with the last Blog Hop! 😉

Okay, so off you go to visit Vicki! Take care, K 🙂

PS. Just in case you lose your way along the Blog Hop, here’s a list of all the blogs along the way…

Sharlene Meyer www.magpiecreates.com
Kelly Nelson www.Kellysstampinspot.wordpress.com
Kim Badelt www.kimsstampingspot.blogspot.com
Jan McAnulty www.cardcaperswithjan.wordpress.com
Megan Mcdonald www.megan-finishingtouches.blogspot.com
Narelle Hodges www.stampwithnarelle.blogspot.com
Kristine Thompson www.inkspotcreations.com
Kylie Swain     www.kraftykylie.typepad.com/blossom_designs
Rachel Jackson www.havefunstamping.blogspot.com
Nicky Adamson www.nickyadamson.blogspot.com
Kari Hughes www.karigail.wordpress.com
Vicki Were www.stmpinvickistyle.blogspot.com
Clare McLlhatton www.craftycowcreations.blogspot.com
Lisa Bullock www.daffyscrapper.wordpress.com
Wendy Todd www.stampwithwendy.com.au
Jenny Humphreys www.stampinbytheseatofmypants.blogspot.com

21 responses to “Mother’s Day ESAD Blog Hop!

  1. Pingback: Scallop Envelope Die – lotsa ideas! « EnchantINK

  2. Hi Kari,

    I love your projects. I was inspired to try the felt envelope. I couldn’t get mine to stick together with Tombow, so ended up stitching it. Any tips greatly appreciated!
    Thanks for the inspiration.
    Jo

    • Hi Jo,

      Mine was a remnant of felt I had hanging around so I don’t know if the different types of felt make any difference to how the Tombow sticks them? I did pin mine with the hatpin while the glue was drying so that may have helped hold it together, maybe try putting the envelope under something to hold the flaps closed while it dries? Or maybe some Crystal Effects as that dries faster- I know I sometimes find the Tombow can take ages to dry completely.

      Hope that helps a bit? Thanks for visiting!

      K 🙂

  3. Beautiful card and purse

  4. LOVE your projects Kari! Ah, pink – my fav colour! LOL
    K-xxx

  5. So much pink, but i love the scallop edge for the card, really adds something 🙂

  6. Great projects. I love the cute little bag and the envelope flap on the card.

  7. gorgeous work … I love the way you have thought outside the box with the felt bag.

  8. Catherine Leong

    Love all your projects – I simply must get that scallop envelope die!

  9. Gorgeous projects. The felt envelope is divine.

  10. hi, these are great creations, i love the little felt bag, it is so cute

  11. What a great idea….. I like the idea of putting the envelope on the fold for the bottom….. might have to go and have a go. Thanks for sharing.

  12. what great ideas you have there. I havent bought this die yet but may have to put it on my wish list now.

  13. Cool projects! I especially love how you’ve used the envelope ‘flap’ on your card and adore the little purse – I will definitely be using that idea. Thanks for inspiring me 🙂

  14. Very sweet projects, Kari! Thanks for sharing your lovely, unique, ideas.

  15. WOW!!! How amazing are you. I brought this Die thinking” Yeah its cool”, But you have blown me away with Idea’s. Thank you for sharing your designs and instructions..

  16. These are all beautiful – and this little die has now become a “must have”!

  17. me too ..what a great idea Kari!!

  18. oh wow … how cool is that little bag – thanks for sharing the idea! will have to give that a try for sure 🙂

  19. Lovely lovely work.

  20. Hi to you too Kari. Gorgeous card and purse Kari, in my CASE folder they go! xxN

Leave a comment