Inaugural INKlings Blog Hop!

 

Welcome to The INKlings’ Team’s first ever blog hop. You may have arrived here from Amy’s inspiring blog, or just be visiting my blog, but whichever way you arrived here, once you’ve checked out my creations you can continue the hop through the link at the end of this post to the next team member.

What style of cards do we frequently get asked for inspiration for? More often than not it’s masculine cards, be it little boys or grandfathers, everyone seems to struggle with cards for the males in our lives. So as a team we thought we’d help you out by providing you with 20 team members’ fantastic blogs that you can hop through and get lots of fantastic ideas from.

Want to win some Blog Candy? Simply leave a comment on each blog and then email Michelle Dyson and let her know you’ve done so and you’ll be in the running for a fantastic prize of 20 handmade cards plus other goodies. (Sorry Blog Candy prize not available to SU! demonstrators)

Okay, so on to my projects for tonight! I had been wanting to try out the ‘Faux Suede’ Technique and I thought this would make a nice masculine background on a card, especially when combined with the Wanted Stamp Set. What I did to create the Faux Suede piece is to crumple and then smooth out the piece of Whisper White cardstock repeatedly until the cardstock began to separate into layers. Once this began I pulled the layers carefully apart to reveal a slightly ‘fluffy’ side. To add some more texture I then sponged this ‘fluffy’ side with Close to Cocoa, Chocolate Chip and Baja Breeze inks before stamping with the horse image. You can also see how I’ve distressed the edge of the Chocolate Chip layer under the stamped image with my bone folder to separate the layers too, using your bone folder to repeatedly burnish the cardstock is another way to get the layers to separate and do this Faux Suede technique.

I was saying to some girls at my class last week how the Perfect Polka Dot embossing folder would be handy to make a golf ball if you used the ‘wrong’ side of the cardstock ….. so I thought I’d make a golf card too (lucky my dad doesn’t read this, his birthday is coming up!! LOL! and yes, he is a golfer!!)

There’s not much stamping on this one and it was very quick and easy to make. My punches made it easy too, for the ball, green, and the sentiment. I also used my photo corner punch to help create the flag and then I used another punch for something else …… anyone like to venture a guess as to what punch I used the create the tee? Leave your guess in the comments and I’ll be back tomorrow and show you how 😉  

And my last offering for tonight is this little tool box! I got the template for this box from Jeanne on Splitcoast Stampers and it was intended as a Timbits box! Now for the non-Canadians or uninitiated out there, Tim Hortons is a Coffee mecca in Canada and the donuts are just divine, Timbits are actually the ‘donut holes’!! So cute and mmmmmm *insert Homer Simpson drool here*

But, for today, this box has become a tool box;) Once I had printed (on Close to Cocoa) and cut out the box I dragged my Chocolate Chip inkpad along it to create a kind of woodgrain effect. Just a couple of little embellishments and then….. well what good is a tool box without tools? I decided to emboss the tool images from the Totally Tool Stamp Set in Black onto the Silver Brushed Metallic cardstock and cut them out to add them in. Of course I’m sure adding some of the recipients favourite lollies or chockies would’t go astray either 😉

Well that’s all from me. Next stop on the INKlings’ Team Blog Hop is the INKlings fabulous leader herself, Jayne Mercer! Have fun and don’t forget to leave a comment on each blog to win some great Blog Candy.

Happy Hopping! K 🙂

PS Just in case you got lost on the hop, here’s some links and a list of all the blogs on the way 🙂

Clare

Janice

Dani

Kylie

Amy

Kari – me!

Jayne

Joanna

Michelle

Christie

Ryn

Fiona

Beth

Nicky

Dani F

Michelle F-S

Rachel J

Rachel C

Carolyn

Michelle Le Breton

21 responses to “Inaugural INKlings Blog Hop!

  1. I love all these ideas and it has only taken me a week to complete the blog hop 😦 I don’t even have kids and i can’t sit down long enough to view them all. I don’t know how you do it 🙂

  2. Love the toolbox, what agreat idea. May pinch this to make for my FIL.

  3. Diana Farthing

    Fabulous! Love the golf card and your tool box. Someone is going to be very happy to receive those. Keep it up.

  4. Jeany Cuttell

    The golf card is great! I know I’ll use it for my husband. Thanks for sharing

  5. Very masculine, Great ideas

  6. Well done Kari, love, love the toolbox you put a lot of thought into that.

  7. what a great idea making a tool box & using the stamps like that!
    i so want the wanted stamp! it is great!
    amazing stuff!!

  8. hi, i love the tool box, this would be so cool to make and give. i reckon the punch you used for the tee was the round tab punch

  9. I love you work Kari. Always so inspiring

  10. Great inspiration!

  11. Great projects ….fantastic tool kit though thanks for sharing!

  12. I absolutely LOVE that toolbox!!! Fantastic hon!

  13. You clever chicky babe! I love the tool box! Now for the tee . . .hmmmm I think that you may have used Curly Label? or not . . .;)

  14. Oh, Kari, your toolbox! wow! And I must case your golf card for my Dad! Of course, that means I have to buy the Big Shot 😉 lol!

  15. Great ideas!! Thanks for the inspiration:)

  16. Ooh Love Love LOVE your work Kari!!! Love the tool box but love the golf card even better! Such a fun card, any golfer would love it

  17. The golfing card is great….i have to try that one and the toolbox is amazing.

  18. Fab ideas Kari, you clever chicky you! My fave is the toolbox, going to have to CASE that idea before too long 😀
    xx michelle

  19. Have to try one of those golfing cards for my BIL when it’s his birthday! Thanks for the inspiration!

  20. Very inspired by the golf card !

  21. omg that tool box is too cute! i want one!

Leave a comment